Who Is Required By Law To Stop At A Car Accident?

The Duty to Stop at a Car Accident 

The duty to stop at a car accident varies from state to state. While many states require the driver to see if there is an injury or property damage before they can stop, others may only require that the driver knows about the accident. Regardless of the duty to stop, circumstantial evidence is often sufficient to prove that the accident involved someone who was injured.
personal injury lawyer
(Looking for a collision attorney? Visit us today!)

Good Samaritan laws 

If you’ve been involved in a car accident and acted in good faith, you may have the right to claim the at-fault driver. In some cases, Good Samaritan laws even cover your insurance policy! However, there are limits to what you can do. 

Traffic infractions 

In New York, drivers can be charged with traffic infractions when they fail to stop and report a car accident. This infraction can lead to a fine of up to $250 and up to 15 days in jail. In some counties, it is even more common. In Orleans County, for example, drivers received 1% of all VTL 600 tickets in 2018. 

Duty to stop 

The duty to stop at a car accident is a legal concept. While a driver is not required to provide medical assistance if they are not involved in the accident, they must still render assistance if they see that another vehicle is involved. If they fail to do so, they can be held responsible for failing to render assistance. 

Requirement to stay 

The requirement to stay at a scene of a car accident is a legal requirement that protects all parties involved. It allows victims to exchange insurance information, and share property damage, and medical bills. Failure to do so may lead to serious criminal charges. The severity of these charges depends on the details of the accident. 

Other states’ laws 

Some states require drivers involved in car accidents to stop and render aid. In New York, for instance, if a vehicle is involved in a crash, drivers must stop and stay at the scene. If they do not, they may be charged with hit-and-run. In such cases, they may face prison time and lose their driver’s license. 

Indiana’s law 

By law, Indiana drivers must stop at car accidents involving at least two other vehicles. If possible, drivers must stop at the scene of an accident and exchange contact and insurance information with the other party. In addition, drivers must call 911 and report the accident to the local police. 

Who Is Required By Law To Stop At A Car Accident? | Montag Law