What is the Limit For Drunk Driving?
Depending on the state, a drunk driving charge can mean the difference between jail time and a fine. While the penalties for driving under the influence vary by state, there is one thing that all states have in common: drunk driving is a dangerous activity. It is the number one killer on America’s roads. Aside from the physical harm it causes, a driver can face additional costs of up to $2,000, and a vehicle may be towed and slapped with storage fees. In some states, a driver may be convicted of DUI even if the alcohol content in their blood is low.
(Looking for a Collision Lawyer? Contact us Today! Click here: Motorcycle Accident Attorney)
The legal limit for blood alcohol content in the United States is 0.08%. For drivers under 21, the legal limit is 0.01%. In the state of Utah, the legal BAC limit is 0.05. For commercial drivers, the limit is 0.04%. The state’s law is the strictest in the country.
The best way to determine a BAC level is by testing a driver’s breath, but the state also has a slew of other options. One of the simplest and most effective is to use an ignition interlock device. This prevents the driver from starting their vehicle while under the influence. A driver who refuses to have their BAC tested is disqualified from driving for 12 months. Depending on the circumstances, the driver may also have their vehicle impounded.
Aside from the aforementioned, the best way to determine a driver’s BAC is to perform a random breath test. This will reveal your BAC level in milligrams per deciliter, which is a very precise measurement. In some cases, a suspect may have a high BAC level but be otherwise healthy. This is especially true of younger drivers.
Aside from the legal limit for driving under the influence, a driver may also be required to take a chemical test. This may be a rebuttable legal presumption if the test yields a BAC level above 0.08%. The same holds for a driver who refuses to take a breathalyzer. If you refuse, you could find yourself facing a fine of up to $1,000 and a one-year suspension of your driver’s license.
While not all states have a legal limit for driving under the influence, the state of New York has a statewide limit of 0.08%. The state also has a zero-tolerance policy for drivers under the age of 21. This may be the most important factor, as a minor will be charged with DUI. There are no mandatory penalties for this crime, as opposed to the mandatory ones in other states.
The legal BAC limit in Colorado may be a bit higher, but a random breath test can reveal you’re true BAC level. In the event you are pulled over, the best way to avoid a DUI charge is to get a good night’s sleep before driving. Similarly, if you are traveling with children, it’s best to avoid drinking at all costs.
The legal limit for alcohol may vary from state to state, but the real trick is knowing when it is appropriate to drink. In many cases, a drink or two will be all that is necessary to reach the legal BAC limit.