What is Hit and Run Charge?
Hit and run is a crime that is committed by a driver who leaves the scene of an accident without leaving a note or providing any other information to the other parties involved. The penalty for this offense varies depending on the severity of the accident. For example, a minor hit and run is a misdemeanor while a major accident will result in a felony. A first offense could result in a fine of $200 to $400, while a second offense could result in fines of up to $20000.
(Looking for a Car Accident Lawyer? Contact us Today! Click here: Collision Injuries Lawyer)
A hit and run may seem like a small traffic infraction, but it is still a serious offense that can have a huge impact on your driving record. If you are convicted, your license will be suspended and you could end up spending a lot of time in jail. In addition, you could have your car insurance rates jacked up.
Fortunately, an NYC hit-and-run attorney can help you navigate the charges you face. He can also help you avoid having your driving privileges suspended or your criminal record destroyed. Having a criminal record can affect your future career options. To get help with your hit-and-run charge, you should contact a New York traffic lawyer as soon as possible. Fred Sosinsky has spent over 30 years fighting for the rights of his clients and has successfully kept his clients out of jail. His extensive knowledge of the court system and prosecutor priorities will provide you with the best chances of avoiding a serious charge.
While the hit and run is the most common offense, some states have more severe laws. These include Wyoming, where prosecutors can impose harsh penalties on anyone who leaves the scene of an accident. Additionally, some states make hit-and-run a felony if the victim died as a result of the accident. Depending on the circumstances of the case, a defendant might be charged with assault, reckless endangerment, and vehicular manslaughter.
The legal requirements of a hit-and-run are not easy to meet. Drivers are required to report accidents to the police and provide reasonable assistance to injured persons. The law requires a driver to provide the name, address, and insurance information of the other vehicle and its driver. Moreover, a driver who flees the scene of an accident can face penalties such as a suspension of their license and points on their driving record.
A hit-and-run can be a serious offense. It can result in hefty fines, jail time, or even a lifetime ban from driving. As such, it is important to know what is the best defense. This is why you need to seek a skilled attorney who is familiar with the laws and court system of your state.
When you are accused of a hit-and-run, you should consult with a skilled hit-and-run attorney to learn more about the offense and your defense options. He can explain to you the legal requirements and help you develop a plan to defend yourself.