What Happens If You Kill Someone While Drunk Driving?
Whether you’re a drunk driver or someone who was driving with impaired judgment, you can face serious legal consequences for causing death while drunk driving. You may be charged with second-degree murder or involuntary manslaughter. If you are convicted, you could spend years in prison. In addition, your criminal record could interfere with your ability to obtain employment, attend college, or even get a mortgage.
(Looking for a Car Accident Lawyer? Contact us Today! Click here: Auto Injury Attorney)
Fortunately, your DUI attorney can help you fight your charges. When you hire a DUI lawyer, they can help you prove that the police had no probable cause to arrest you. You can also seek to have the charges reduced to a less serious offense. Getting a criminal charge dismissed or reduced can mean the difference between a jail sentence and probation. When you’re facing a DUI-related killing, you’ll want to contact an experienced defense attorney to protect your rights.
In the state of Florida, a DUI driver may be charged with intoxication and manslaughter if he or she kills another person while driving under the influence. To prove intoxication manslaughter, the prosecutor must show that the defendant was impaired at the time of the incident. If you are convicted, your driver’s license may be suspended, you may be required to pay fines, and you might be ordered to complete community service.
If you are arrested for DUI manslaughter with gross negligence, you may be faced with a jail sentence of up to 10 years. In addition, you might be required to pay restitution to the victims of the accident. The statute requires that the driver’s actions were “extremely reckless.” This could include speeding on the wrong side of the road, driving on a sidewalk to get past traffic or tailgating.
If the intoxicated driver is convicted of intoxication manslaughter, he or she can also be arrested and charged with vehicular homicide. If the intoxicated driver kills another person, the prosecutor must show that he or she caused the death by reckless behavior. Examples of reckless behavior include driving at high speeds, ignoring traffic signs, tailgating, and racing.
In California, if you have a prior DUI conviction, you can be charged with second-degree murder. If you are convicted of second-degree murder, you can be imprisoned for between 16 and life. In addition, you may be liable for an additional three-to-six years in prison for the first person injured in the accident. In this case, you will also have to pay a $10,000 fine.
The severity of a DUI-related killing varies from state to state, so you’ll need to consult a DUI lawyer to understand your charges. In some cases, you can get your DUI-related killing charge reduced or dropped altogether. If you have a family member or friend who was killed in an alcohol-related accident, you should seek to have your charge dismissed or reduced as soon as possible. An experienced DUI lawyer can make sure that you are not convicted of a crime that will negatively affect your future.