What Does BAC Stand For in Drunk Driving?
Even though BAC and PAC have similar penalties, you may not know what these terms mean. Here’s a quick overview of the two terms. In Wisconsin, a PAC of 0.02% or more is considered to be over the legal limit for driving. A PAC of 0.04% or more in Wisconsin may lead to a BAC of 0.15% or more. Depending on the circumstances, you could be charged with one or both crimes. Sentencing guidelines for these offenses vary by judicial district. In Wisconsin, there are nine judicial districts.
(Looking for a Collision Lawyer? Contact us Today! Click here: Auto Injury Attorney)
BAC stands for blood alcohol concentration
BAC stands for blood alcohol concentration and is a measurement of alcohol in the bloodstream. A person with a blood alcohol concentration over a certain level may be legally charged with drunk driving. The higher the number, the more impaired the person is. It is important to know your BAC limit before you get behind the wheel, as driving under the influence is an extremely serious offense.
The BAC level of a person can vary significantly depending on several factors, including the type of alcohol and stress level. The only accurate way to measure blood alcohol content is through a breathalyzer test. In addition, online tools do not take into account a person’s health history and food intake, making them inaccurate. Therefore, if you’re unsure about whether you can drive, call a cab, Lyft, or a friend to drive you home.
PAC stands for prohibited alcohol concentration
While a first-offense PAC charge carries the same consequences as an OWI charge, the penalties for a second and third offense can be significantly harsher. You may face jail time and an expensive fine, and you may have to install an ignition interlock device. You may even lose your license for up to a year. You may also be required to take an alcohol assessment. Further, the penalties can become more severe if you have an underage passenger.
The difference between an OWI charge and a PAC charge is in the alcohol concentration. If you have a BAC of 0.08 or higher, you may face a PAC charge. A PAC charge requires the prosecution to prove that you were driving over the legal limit.
PAC charges carry the same penalties as OWI
A PAC charge is a lesser charge than an OWI, but the same penalties apply. Depending on the amount of alcohol in your blood, a PAC conviction can land you in jail. PACs are also punishable by a fine of up to $1000 and six to nine months of license suspension, depending on your case.
If you’re arrested for drunk driving, you’ll likely face several penalties. First, you’ll have to prove that you were driving while under the legal limit. The police will do so by asking for a specimen of your breath or blood. You must submit to the test or face additional charges.
PAC penalties are the same as OWI
If you are caught driving under the influence, you will most likely be charged with OWI or PAC. While both convictions carry similar penalties, the latter carries more severe consequences. PAC penalties include a revoked license, a mandatory alcohol assessment, and an ignition interlock device. Further, if you have a prior record of drunk driving, your penalties can increase substantially.
Wisconsin law imposes penalties for operating while intoxicated (OWI) and PAC. First-time PAC offenders can face fines of up to $300, license revocation, and jail time. Repeat offenders can face fines of up to $50,000 and up to 15 years in prison. In some counties, a PAC charge will be combined with an OWI.
PAC penalties are on your record for the rest of your life
Depending on the type of alcohol in your system, a PAC charge can result in a lengthy suspension of your driver’s license and even jail time. In addition to the license suspension, you will also face a $200 reinstatement fee. If you’re convicted of a PAC offense, your life will be forever impacted by this conviction.
If you’re arrested for drunk driving in Wisconsin, you’ll likely be charged with a PAC charge, or operating with a Prohibited Alcohol Concentration. This is a lesser charge than an OWI, but the penalties for a PAC conviction are the same as those for an OWI conviction. For your first PAC conviction, you can face fines up to $1000, six to nine months of license suspension, and mandatory alcohol treatment.