What Can I Be Charged For If I Caused a Car Accident?
There are several charges that you can be charged with if you caused a car accident. Some of these include Reckless Driving, Failure to obtain a driver’s license, and leaving the scene of the accident. These crimes are serious and can carry jail time. If you have caused a car accident, you should consult a criminal defense attorney immediately.
(Looking for a Motor Vehicle Collision Attorney? Visit us today!)
Leaving the scene of a car accident
In New York, leaving the scene of a car accident is a crime under Vehicle and Traffic Law (VTL) Section 600. There are two basic categories of car accidents – those that result in injury or property damage, and those that do not result in injury or property damage. Your criminal defense attorney can help you understand the differences between these categories and whether you should leave the scene of an accident.
Leaving the scene of a car accident can result in several penalties. Depending on the circumstances, a driver can be charged with a misdemeanor or felony. A felony conviction carries a fine of up to $2,500, as well as up to three years in jail. However, a seasoned hit-and-run defense attorney can help reduce the severity of these charges. These attorneys have the experience and knowledge to sort through the evidence and construct strong defenses for their clients.
Reckless driving is a crime that can lead to many different types of injuries and even death. Among the more severe injuries caused by reckless driving are traumatic brain injuries and spinal cord injuries. In addition to physical damage, victims may also face losses in income due to the inability to work. If the accident leads to death, survivors may also file a wrongful death suit against the reckless driver.
If you are convicted of reckless driving, you can expect to face serious fines and a potential jail sentence. In addition, you can expect a license suspension of thirty days and 60 days if you are a repeat offender. The long-term impact of a car accident can be very devastating, and you may have to spend many years recovering. If you’ve been in a car accident, contact a Steinberg Injury Lawyer to protect your legal rights.
Facilitating a car accident
If you are responsible for causing a car accident and a child is killed, you may face criminal charges. This may happen if you provide the child with the keys to your car, provided alcohol, or otherwise assisted the child in the accident. You may also be sued as the car owner if your child is killed in the accident.
Failure to obtain a driver’s license
In some states, failure to obtain a driver’s license can lead to charges for causing car accidents. In such a case, the injured party can file a personal injury lawsuit against the unlicensed driver. The unlicensed driver does not have the funds to pay for the damages.
Failure to display a driver’s license is also considered a criminal offense. In Indiana, failure to display a valid license can lead to license revocation for 12 months. Additionally, altering a license is a criminal offense, and a person may face fines and jail time for a third offense. In addition, Indiana’s HTV law provides severe penalties for repeated traffic offenses over ten years. BMV uses criteria outlined in statutes to determine if an individual is a repeat traffic offender and can be prosecuted for this offense. The offenses can include reckless homicide or involuntary manslaughter.