What Are the Penalties For Drunk Driving?
A drunk driver can be given a fine and jail time. They also can lose their license and their vehicles may be impounded. After multiple convictions, a judge may even forbid drunk drivers from driving. Generally, drunk driving convictions are based on three factors: a refusal to submit to chemical testing, driving over the limit, and being reckless while intoxicated. Another factor is whether there was a child under the age of 14 in the car.
(Looking for a Collision Lawyer? Contact us Today! Click here: Logging Truck Accidents Attorney)
Penalties for drunk drivers under 21
Penalties for drunk drivers under 21 can vary by state. Some states have a zero-tolerance rule, meaning that if you’re caught with a measurable level of alcohol in your system, you will lose your license. In other states, the penalties are much stricter.
Depending on the BAC level, a first-time offender may face a $500 fine, a license suspension of up to six months, and mandatory attendance in a DUI prevention program. Those with a BAC of 0.08 will have their license suspended for at least two days. They may also be required to participate in an alcohol education or treatment program for one year.
The fines for drunk driving vary by state. In Alaska, the fine can be as high as $25,000 for a first offense. In Massachusetts, the penalty ranges from $500 to $5,000. In D.C., the fines can be as low as $500, and in Connecticut, the minimum fine is $1,000.
Fines for drunk driving for a first offense are usually under $250. For a second offense, a driver may face fines ranging from $1,000 to $2,500. The driver’s license will be suspended for two years, and he or she will have to pay $1,000, $1,500, or $2,600 a year to have it reinstated. Additionally, the driver will be required to install a driver interlock device in their vehicle, which requires them to take a breathalyzer before starting their vehicle.
If you have been arrested for drunk driving, you may be facing jail time. You may also have to pay a fine or get community service. Community service can include working at a charitable organization or a community project. However, not all volunteer opportunities will count toward the required hours. You should consult a lawyer before completing community service hours. In some cases, you may have a stronger legal defense than you think.
Jail time for drunk driving depends on the severity of the offense. The minimum sentence for a first offense is 30 days in jail, while a second or third offense may result in up to 90 days in jail. If you have a history of drunk driving, you may have to serve up to two years on probation. In addition, you may have to attend an alcohol education program.
Alternative sentencing options
There are many alternatives to jail time for DUI offenses, including community service and drug rehabilitation programs. These options are available for first-time offenders as well as people with an alcohol use disorder. By completing treatment at an approved alcohol treatment facility, you can receive a reduced sentence and minimize the impact of a DWI on your long-term record.
A judge may also order work release, whereby an offender works during the day and returns to jail at night. This program is usually supervised by an Alcohol Drug Driving Safety Unit, which will check the offender’s compliance with the sentencing requirements.