How Serious Is A Hit And Run Charge?

How Serious is a Hit and Run Charge? 

If you were involved in a hit-and-run accident and were not the driver of the other vehicle, you have likely faced several consequences. In addition to the Misdemeanor charge, you could also face other charges, such as reckless endangerment and vehicular assault. In some cases, your driving privileges could also be suspended.
Motorcycle Accident Injury Attorney
(Looking for a Car Accident Lawyer? Contact us Today!)

Misdemeanor 

A hit-and-run charge is extremely serious, and convictions for this crime can result in a hefty fine and jail time. Some states make hit-and-run a felony if the accident resulted in injury or property damage. A hit-and-run defense attorney can help you protect your rights and avoid a felony conviction. 

If you have been involved in a hit-and-run, you should contact an attorney immediately. Your attorney should be able to help you navigate this complicated legal process. Fortunately, most criminal defense lawyers offer a free consultation. If you are facing this charge, you will want to make sure you hire an attorney with a history of handling this type of case. 

Your lawyer will help you understand the intricacies of California’s criminal justice system. He will also know how to prepare your case to maximize your defense. The attorneys at Kann California Defense Group will evaluate your case and develop an effective defense strategy. Call for a free consultation to discuss your case. 

Points on license 

If you have hit-and-run charges on your license, your insurance company will likely suspend it, and you may be facing increased insurance rates. In addition, you’ll likely have points added to your license. The number of points you receive depends on how serious the offense was. A simple speeding ticket will only result in one point, while a DUI or reckless driving conviction can result in six or more. Points are also added to your record if you fail to stop for a school bus. Your state’s DMV website will have detailed information on how points are calculated. 

In most states, driver points stay on your license for one to 10 years. However, some states keep points on a driver’s record forever. Illinois, for example, has five years for points, while in Indiana, the points stay on your license for two years. 

Driving privileges suspended 

The penalty for hit-and-run charges is a suspended license for at least one year. After that, you can apply to have your driving privileges reinstated by presenting proof of financial responsibility. However, the fine you will have to pay could be a substantial sum. If you can show the court that you have insurance, your fine could be reduced or even waived altogether. 

In addition to having your driving privileges suspended, you will also have to pay the mandatory fines and surcharges. You will also have to serve up to 180 days of probation. Additionally, you will have to pay a hefty surcharge of at least $50. 

Another common reason for a suspended license is a medical condition. Some medical conditions make driving unsafe and can lead to the suspension of your driving privilege. While most states have no statute against driving without a physician’s certification, some states have laws governing whether you can drive safely. If you’re suffering from a serious medical condition, driving without this certification may result in fines or additional penalties. 

How Serious Is A Hit And Run Charge? | Montag Law