How Much Jail Time Is For Hit and Run With Death?
In many cases, hit-and-run with death convictions results in jail time of 90 days to a year, with the maximum punishment being four years. The court may also order the offender to pay restitution to the victim, as well as fines. The victim will also have to pay restitution, which can vary from state to state.
(Looking for a Car Accident Lawyer in Lincoln? Visit us today!)
Class 4 misdemeanor
A Class 4 misdemeanor is a serious offense that carries a fine of up to $250. In Virginia, hit-and-run accidents are considered a misdemeanor unless the victim or property was destroyed or the vehicle was unattended. In addition to a fine, the driver is also punished for failing to report the crash.
Depending on the circumstances of the accident, a hit and run may lead to the death or injury of another person. Whether it was a hit and run, or an attempted hit and run, a conviction will have a detrimental impact on your driving record. Insurance companies will see your conviction and may increase your car insurance premiums.
A hit-and-run conviction will result in a license suspension for six months. In addition to losing your license, a hit-and-run conviction will have a significant impact on your employment and finances. Depending on the nature of the accident, you may face fines and prison time. If the accident resulted in injury or death, you are responsible for any medical expenses incurred by the injured party.
Class 5 felony
The charge of Class 5 felony for hit and run with fatality is more serious than that for a hit and run accident involving injury. It applies to drivers and passengers of a vehicle that leaves the scene of the accident without offering assistance. A driver can be sentenced to a minimum of six months in jail and as many as three years in prison. A fine of up to $500 may also be assessed.
The first step in defending yourself against a hit-and-run with death charge is to determine if the defendant can prove that the victim was the person who left the scene of the accident. Arizona law is clear on this matter. If the victim is dead, the driver of the other car must remain at the scene of the accident until the other driver returns. A driver who does not stop at the scene of a collision will be facing serious charges, including the loss of a driver’s license.
Class 6 felony
A hit-and-run with death can result in serious consequences, including the death or injury of a person. If you are convicted of hit and run with death, you could face jail time of up to 10 years and a fine of $2500. You could also be forced to pay for the injured person’s medical expenses.
Virginia law makes it a crime to leave the scene of a hit-and-run accident unless the other driver and passengers report it to law enforcement within 24 hours. Fortunately, most hit-and-run convictions can be reduced or dismissed altogether.
A court will rule on the charges following a bench trial or cause hearing. In some cases, the defendant will also be able to request a jury trial, although this is not recommended. A jury trial is unpredictable and may result in a harsh verdict.
If the hit-and-run victim dies or is injured, the driver will be charged with a Class 6 felony. If the other person has property damage or needs repairs, the court may order the defendant to pay restitution for the damages caused.