How Many Years In Prison For Killing Someone Drunk Driving?

How Many Years in Prison For Killing Someone Drunk Driving? 

If you have recently been arrested for killing someone by drunk driving, you might be wondering how long you could potentially spend in jail. While penalties for vehicular manslaughter vary by state and jurisdiction, these general guidelines should give you a general idea of what you can expect. 

(Looking for a Car Accident Lawyer? Contact us Today! Click here: Semi Truck Accidents Lawyer)

Motorcycle Accident Injury Attorney

Penalties for vehicular manslaughter 

Penalties for vehicular manslaughter for killing someone drunk driving can vary depending on the circumstances surrounding the accident. Generally, vehicular manslaughter is classified as a misdemeanor (second-degree) and carries a less severe penalty than a felony. Penalties range from fines and jail time to lose of driving privileges. The penalties are more severe when a motorist is convicted of vehicular homicide in the first degree, which is a serious felony. 

Penalties for vehicular manslaughter for killing someone drunk driving vary by state. In states without specific driving laws, charges fall under general homicide laws. However, in California, a prosecutor may charge a drunk driver with vehicular manslaughter, which carries a maximum sentence of ten years in prison. 

Potential state prison time 

If you have accidentally killed someone while drunk driving, you may be facing a charge of vehicular homicide. Although this charge is much less likely than murder, it can still have severe consequences. You should consult with a criminal defense attorney if you suspect you may be guilty. This charge is serious, and it can change your life forever. 

Depending on the severity of the incident, the penalty for causing the death of a person can vary wildly. In Massachusetts, for example, a DUI driver who causes the death of a person may face as little as 30 days in jail, while in Tennessee, the punishment may be as much as sixty years in prison and a $50,000 fine. 

Blood alcohol concentration 

The penalty for killing someone while driving under the influence of alcohol can vary greatly, depending on the jurisdiction. In Massachusetts, for example, the penalty for vehicular manslaughter is only 30 days in jail, but in Tennessee, the sentence can be as much as 60 years in prison and a $50,000 fine. 

While the maximum prison term for killing someone while driving drunk is forty years, a more realistic sentence is likely to be six to seven years. A wrongful death conviction for drunk driving is often accompanied by formal warnings. In California, a person who kills another person after drinking alcohol is likely to face a minimum sentence of five to 10 years in prison. 

Malice aforethought test 

In California, the Malice Aforethought Test determines whether a person is guilty of murder when their actions pose a serious threat to life. The act should be deliberate, indicating a disregard for human life. For example, if a drunk driver shoots someone with a loaded shotgun, he or she would have known that their actions would result in death. The intent to kill does not have to be high, but the defendant must be aware that the actions they took were dangerous. 

Under California law, the state must prove that a driver acted with malice aforethought to convict them of murder. Otherwise, the state will consider the offense a lesser crime is known as vehicular manslaughter. 

How Many Years In Prison For Killing Someone Drunk Driving? | Montag Law