How Long in Jail Is a Hit and Run?
If you’ve been accused of leaving the scene of an accident, you’re probably wondering how long a jail sentence you can expect. Whether you’re facing a misdemeanor or a felony, you’ll need to act quickly to avoid a harsh penalty. This includes hiring a lawyer before you speak to the police.
(Looking for a Car Accident Lawyer? Contact us Today! Click here: motorcycle accidents lawyer NE)
There are many different ways a hit-and-run can happen. Some of the most common involves a driver failing to stop at the scene of a crash. In most states, a driver who fails to stop at the scene of an accident will be charged with a felony. A felony hit and run can carry severe fines, a one-year suspension of your license, and the potential for incarceration.
Hit and run can also take place when a driver flees the scene of a crash. The state may also charge a driver with a felony for failing to exchange insurance information. As a result, your car’s insurance premiums could rise significantly. These penalties can have severe implications for you and your family.
The legal definition of a hit and run is somewhat complex and can be determined by the type of injury that occurred. If the injury is fatal, the case will be referred to as a homicide. However, the same offense can be charged as a first-degree felony or a second-degree felony, depending on the circumstances. Depending on the severity of the injuries, the penalty can range from six months in county jail to 30 years in prison.
If the hit and run occurred in California, the law is fairly clear on the ramifications. Under Vehicle Code 20002, a driver who fails to exchange insurance information after an accident is guilty of a misdemeanor. Fines can range from $250 to $500.
On the other hand, a class 5 felony is not as straightforward. Unlike a misdemeanor, a class 5 felony carries a maximum prison sentence of five years and a maximum fine of $10,000. Similarly, a driver who leaves the scene of an accident causing property damage is fined up to $1,500.
The best way to defend against a hit and run is to raise the right defenses. A good attorney will be able to present your case in a way that is both strong and persuasive. He or she can use a variety of techniques to prove that the defendant did not commit the crime.
Another way to recoup damages is to bring a civil suit. A plaintiff can pursue several different claims, such as pain and suffering or non-economic damages. Typically, a judgment, in this case, is settled for a fixed amount. An individual can also seek punitive damages, but these will not be covered by his or her car insurance policy.
While there is a multitude of different types of hit-and-run crimes, the most important fact is that it is a serious charge. Having a skilled criminal lawyer by your side can be the difference between getting off of the hook and being sent to a California penitentiary.