How Many Years in Jail For Drunk Driving?
If you have a DWI conviction, you will probably want to know how many years in jail you can expect. There are three basic types of sentences for a DWI conviction: jail time, fines, and aggravating factors. Then, you can decide which type of sentence will be best for you.
(Looking for a Collision Lawyer? Contact us Today! Click here: Semi Truck Accident Lawyer)
When convicted of drunk driving in Texas, a person will face a wide range of penalties. The maximum jail time can range from six months to a year. The penalties are also often accompanied by an ignition interlock device. The jail term varies from case to case, depending on the severity of the offense and the judge’s discretion.
The penalties for driving while intoxicated in Texas are very severe. They are based on your age, the number of offenses, and the circumstances. A first-time offender can expect to spend 180 days in jail and pay a $2,000 fine. In addition, their license may be suspended for 90 days.
The fines for drunk driving vary in each state. In Virginia, for example, it is illegal to drive under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Drivers who are under the influence of alcohol or drugs may be arrested and face imprisonment. In Maryland, drivers are also required to take tests for alcohol. Depending on the amount of alcohol in a driver’s system, a BAC of 0.08 percent or higher can result in a hefty fine.
First-time offenders face fines of at least $200. The second time is punishable by a minimum of $500, up to $1000. A third conviction within seven years can result in a class six felony charge and permanent loss of license.
Aggravating factors for drunk driving are factors that make a driver’s drunk driving charge more serious than a first offense. These factors are usually listed as part of the charge, and they can vary from state to state. However, they have all considered factors that make a DUI charge more serious than a first offense. Often, these factors include the driver’s blood alcohol level (BAC) being 0.15 percent or higher.
The penalties for drunk driving with aggravating factors vary between states, but the general principles apply to all. If the driver is found guilty of aggravated DUI, he or she may face state prison time, as well as a license suspension for up to one year. In addition, he or she could be liable for damages caused by the accident.
Alternative sentencing options
Alternative sentencing options for drunk driving are designed to reduce or even eliminate the harsh consequences of driving under the influence of alcohol. These sentencing options may include work release programs, community service, or even electronic monitoring. If a person meets these criteria, they may qualify for a reduced sentence, allowing them to resume their lives and careers.
Many jurisdictions require drunk driving offenders to attend a safety-driving course. These courses are usually offered by the state and cost a few hundred dollars. Completing the course shows the prosecuting attorney that you are serious about changing your behavior. This may even lead to a better deal from the prosecuting attorney. For example, the prosecutor may agree to reduce the DUI charge to reckless driving if a person is willing to complete the program.